A mess of popes

Pope Silvester II, 999-1003, was one of the great minds of his age.  He was followed by mess of guys, including the first man to have been the reigning Pope three times.  I lost track of what all was going on.

I skimmed through books 1, 3 and 9 of the Iliad, the first three of the books the kids will cover in their ancient literature class.  I’ve spent a lot of time with Fitzgerald’s translation over the years, and I think I’m ready to dip into another one, either Rees’ early 1960s version which we own in a Barnes & Noble paperback, or the 1924 Loeb edition (translated by A. T. Murray) which is online.

And that was about it for reading today.  I’m hoping to get into the second part of Augustine’s City of God following an email discussion with a friend this evening.  If I can find my Dodds translation.

Leave a Reply

