The eight evil thoughts of Evagrius Ponticus

Here’s a magnificent summary of Evagrius Ponticus’ eight evil thoughts: “The order below follows the order of the Eight Thoughts, and are as follows: gluttony, fornication, avarice, anger, sadness, akedia, vainglory, and pride. For each thought, there will be a description of what the thought is, what part of the soul it affects, how it relates to the other thoughts, and specific virtues to combat the thought.”

His entire series on Evagrius begins with this post.  My introduction to Evagrius was Earthen Vessels: The Practice of Personal Prayer According to the Partristic Tradition by Gabriel Bunge, OSB.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s